What is the difference between a German and Swiss Passport?

A German passport is issued to nationals of Germany and Switzerland. A Swiss passport is issued to nationals of Switzerland. Both passports are valid for Travel to most countries in the world.

Germany and Switzerland are signatories.

Germany and Switzerland are signatories to the Schengen Agreement, which allows the free movement of persons within Europe. Citizens of either country can enter and leave freely without a visa. 

However, there are restrictions on Travel within the Schengen area for some people with visas issued by non-EU countries.

For citizens of the Schengen Area

Visas are required for citizens of the Schengen Area travelling to certain non-Schengen countries in the European Economic Area and the U.S. The relevant page of the Federal Office for Migration provides information on country-specific entry requirements.

Apply for a German or Swiss passport

To apply for a German or Swiss passport, applicants must provide proof of citizenship, such as an official birth certificate or certificate of naturalization, as well as their date of birth and identity document information. Applications can be filed in person at the German diplomatic mission or consular office that serves the applicant’s place of residence. However, many people buy german passports online just for a temporary purpose. But the good practice is to get a legally authenticated passport.

Member of the European Union

Germany is a member of the European Union (E.U.), a group of 28 European countries that work together to promote economic cooperation and the free movement of people, goods, and services within the E.U. This means that citizens of E.U. countries do not need to apply for visas to visit other E.U. countries.

Countries That do not need visas for Travel

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, and Sweden are the countries that form the E.U. along with the U.K. The European Economic Area (EEA) includes Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway. Citizens of these countries do not need visas to travel to any other E.U. member states as long as they meet all the other entry requirements for that country.

Swiss passport holders

Swiss passport holders can travel freely through Switzerland and to the European Union without restrictions. Switzerland is not a member of the E.U.

A valid U.S. visa is required for visitors from Switzerland who want to visit the United States. U.S. Embassy Bern provides information on how to apply for a U.S. visa in Switzerland.

Eurostat website Stats

According to the Eurostat website, about 1% of the E.U. population – or approximately 8 million people – are Swiss citizens. These E.U. citizens can live and work anywhere in the E.U. without any restrictions. All E.U. citizens have the right to move freely around the E.U.

Statistics of Office for National Statistics(ONS)

According to statistics published by the Office for National Statistics (ONS) in the U.K., more than 6 million Britons live permanently overseas, with an estimated 1.3 million living in the E.U., including Switzerland. British nationals need a valid passport to travel to most countries in the E.U. and Switzerland. E.U. residents do not require a visa to enter the United Kingdom if they hold a U.K. biometric residence card (BRP) or have permanent residence status. The same applies regardless of the length of time they have resided in Europe or the United Kingdom.